StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. This year students were asked to create a 5-6 minute long video exploring the issue they most want the president and new Congress to address in 2021.

10th grade students Aileen Qi & Kevin Rha from Montgomery Blair High School in Silver Spring, Maryland won 2nd Prize for their documentary about the importance of considering scientific research and facts in policymaking, "Let Science Speak." As 2nd Prize winners, the duo will receive $1,500. They also won this year's "Fan Favorite" award. During a week long period of public voting where over 71,000 votes were cast, their video received over 11,000 of those votes. As "Fan Favorite" they will receive an additional $500 cash prize.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Silver Spring, C- SPAN is available locally through Comcast.

"Despite the educational challenges students faced this school year, these local winners showed creativity, resourcefulness and a strong work ethic to create documentaries addressing important issues on both the local and national level," said Misty Allen, Vice President of Government and Community Affairs for Comcast’s Beltway Region. "Comcast always looks forward to working with longstanding partners like C-SPAN and StudentCam to strengthen our communities through educational programs.".”

More Information:

Aileen & Kevin will share $1,500 in prize money for their 2nd Prize win

Pictured (l-r): Kevin Rha and Aileen Qi

Rep. David Trone (D-MD) - Congratulatory Message

Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD) - Congratulatory Message

UMD Center for Global Sustainability Director Nathan Hultman - Congratulatory Message

University of Maryland Professor Ronald Yaros - Congratulatory Message

University of Maryland Dept. of Cell Biology & Molecular Genetics Chair Jonathan Dinman- Congratulatory Message

Montgomery County, MD School Board President Shebra Evans - Congratulatory Message

Maryland State Delegate Lorig Charkoudian - Congratulatory Message

Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) presents Aileen with a Certificate of Special Recognition

Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) presents Kevin with a Certificate of Special Recognition

Sen. Ben Cardin (D-MD) presents Aileen and Kevin with a Certificate of Special Recognition

C-SPAN 2021 "Fan Favorite" Award - Aileen and Kevin won this year's award with over 11,000 votes cast for their documentary

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present Aileen and Kevin with a Certificate of Special Recognition