StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. The competition, now in its 18th year, invited all middle and high school students to enter by producing a short documentary asking students to explore a federal policy or program and address the theme: "How does the federal government impact your life?"

12th grade student Nathan Kuczmarski from Saint Ignatius High School in Cleveland, Ohio won 2nd Prize for his documentary on the 1972 Clean Water Act, "Dream of Clean Water." As a 2nd Prize winner, Nathan has won $1,500 in prize money. Nathan also won this year's "Fan Favorite" award. During a week long period of public voting where almost 12,000 votes were cast, Nathan's video received over 2,500 of those votes. As "Fan Favorite" he will receive an additional $500 cash prize.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Cleveland, C-SPAN is available locally through Spectrum.

"Through C-SPAN’s StudentCam competition, young adults can explore and draw attention to issues central to community growth, which aligns with Spectrum’s focus to support and strengthen the towns and cities where we live and work,” said Adam Falk, Senior Vice President, State Government Affairs for Charter Communications, which operates the Spectrum brand of Internet, TV, Mobile and Voice services. "We applaud Nathan and all of the winning students on the creativity they have demonstrated in their outstanding documentaries."

More Information:
WATCH: Dream of Clean Water by Nathan Kuczmarski

Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District Superintendent of Environmental Services Scott Broski - Congratulatory Message

Senator Sherrod Brown - Congratulatory Letter

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present Nathan with a Certificate of Special Recognition

Nathan will receive $1,500 for his 2nd Prize win

Nathan's documentary won this year's "Fan Favorite" award - he will receive an additional $500 cash prize