StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. 2023 marked the 19th year of the competition and we invited middle and high school students to create a short documentary addressing the theme: "If you were a newly elected member of Congress, which issue would be your first priority and why?"

8th grade students Ganesh Ramamurthi, Luiza Cardoso de Araujo, & Rayna Wofford from Eastern Middle School in Silver Spring, Maryland won 2nd Prize for their documentary on food waste, "What a Waste." As a 2nd Prize winners, the team will share $1,500 in prize money.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Silver Spring, C-SPAN is available locally through Comcast.

"It is truly an inspiration to hear young voices tackle important issues in such creative and thoughtful ways," said Misty Allen, Vice President of Government and Regulatory Affairs for Comcast’s Beltway Region. "Comcast is proud to once again partner with C-SPAN for its StudentCam competition and help recognize Ganesh Ramamurthi, Luiza Cardoso de Araujo, & Rayna Wofford on their outstanding achievement."

More Information:
WATCH: What a Waste by Ganesh Ramamurthi, Luiza Cardoso de Araujo, & Rayna Wofford

Congratulatory Message - Manna Food Center Director of Development and Communications Mardia Dennis

Congratulatory Message - Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC) Food Waste & Food Systems Program Advocate Nina Sevilla

Congratulatory Message - Montgomery County Councilmember Will Jawando

Certificate of Special Recognition - Montgomery County Council President Evan Glass

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present the trio with a Certificate of Special Recognition

Luiza Cardoso de Araujo, Rayna Wofford, Ganesh Ramamurthi will receive $1,500 for winning 2nd Prize