StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. 2023 marked the 19th year of the competition and we invited middle and high school students to create a short documentary addressing the theme: "If you were a newly elected member of Congress, which issue would be your first priority and why?"

12th grade students Gabriel Tiong & Lauren Cargal from Jenks High School in Oklahoma won 2nd Prize for their documentary on the environmental impacts of fast fashion, "Here Today, Gone Tomorrow." As 2nd Prize winners, the duo will receive $1,500 in prize money.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Jenks, C-SPAN is available locally through Cox Communications.

More Information:
WATCH: Here Today, Gone Tomorrow by Gabriel Tiong & Lauren Cargal

Congratulatory Message - Congressman Kevin Hern

Congratulatory Message - GreenBiz Group Chairman and Co-Founder Joel Makower

Congratulatory Message - NY Assemblymember Anna R. Kelles

Interview - C-SPAN Washington Journal Segment with Gabriel & Lauren

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present Gabriel Tiong & Lauren Cargal with a Certificate of Special Recognition

As 2nd Prize winners, Gabriel & Lauren will receive $1,500 for their work