StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. 2023 marked the 19th year of the competition and we invited middle and high school students to create a short documentary addressing the theme: "If you were a newly elected member of Congress, which issue would be your first priority and why?"

12th grade students Zane Smith & Remington Rowland from Jenks High School in Oklahoma won 3rd Prize for their documentary on manufacturers imposing barriers that deny consumers the ability to repair and modify purchased products, "Right to Repair."

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Jenks, C-SPAN is available locally through Cox Communications.

More Information:
WATCH: Right to Repair by Zane Smith & Remington Rowland

Congratulatory Message - Congressman Kevin Hern

As 3rd Prize winners, the duo will receive $750 for their work

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present the Zane & Remington with a Certificate of Special Recognition