StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. 2023 marked the 19th year of the competition and we invited middle and high school students to create a short documentary addressing the theme: "If you were a newly elected member of Congress, which issue would be your first priority and why?"

12th grade student Kyle Ward from John Marshall High School in San Antonio, Texas won 3rd Prize for his documentary on family farming, agriculture and land preservation, "Richland." As a 3rd Prize winner, Kyle will receive $750 in prize money.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In San Antonio, C-SPAN is available locally through Spectrum.

"“At Spectrum, we understand the importance of investing in programs that make a meaningful impact in the communities we serve,” said Adam Falk, Senior Vice President of State Government Affairs for Charter Communications, which operates the Spectrum brand of connectivity services. “By encouraging young adults to explore important issues through video, C-SPAN’s StudentCam competition helps empower future generations to become active and informed citizens. We congratulate Kyle for the exemplary production skills and the passion and creativity he demonstrated in his winning documentary.”

More Information:
WATCH: Richland by Kyle Ward

Congratulatory Message - Rep. Joaquin Castro

Thank you to Spectrum, Leon Valley Mayor Chris Riley, Texas State Senator Jose Menendez, and Jasmine from the office of Congressman Joaquin Castro for helping us honor Kyle at a ceremony at Marshall High School

Texas Governor Greg Abbott presents Kyle with a Certificate of Special Recognition

As a 3rd Prize winner, Kyle will receive a $750 cash prize

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present Kyle with a Certificate of Special Recognition