StudentCam - 2020 Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. This year students in grades 6-12 were asked to create a short (5-6 minute) video documentary on a topic related to the competition theme, "What's Your Vision in 2020? Explore the issue you most want presidential candidates to address during the campaign."

12th grade student Trevor Connaher from Bay Port High School in Green Bay, WI won 2nd Prize in the High School Central division for his documentary on political polarization in America and on social media, "America's Digital Divide".

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Green Bay, C-SPAN is available locally through Spectrum.

"Spectrum is committed to strengthening the communities where we live and work through educational programs like StudentCam,” said Adam Falk, Senior Vice President, State Government Affairs for Charter Communications, Inc. "We are proud of this partnership with C-SPAN that encourages students to think critically about the issues that affect our country and local community. Congratulations Trevor on the creativity demonstrated in this excellent work.

More Information:

Trevor will receive $1,500 as one of this year's 2nd Prize winning filmmakers

Trevor Connaher headshot

Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI) - Congratulatory Message

WI State Rep. John Nygren, 89th Assembly District - Congratulatory Message

WI State Sen. Dave Hanson - Congratulatory Message

James Fitzgerald, Chairman of the Republican Party of Brown County - Congratulatory Message

Mike Moran - Chairman of the Democratic Party of Brown County - Congratulatory Message

UW-Green Bay Prof. Aaron Weinschenk - Congratulatory Message

Howard, WI Village President Burt McIntyre - Congratulatory Message

Suamico Village Administrator Alex Kaker - Congratulatory Message

Citation from the WI State Assembly