StudentCam - 2020 Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. This year students in grades 6-12 were asked to create a short (5-6 minute) video documentary on a topic related to the competition theme, "What's Your Vision in 2020? Explore the issue you most want presidential candidates to address during the campaign."

8th grade students Derek Mu & Jonathan Fan from Takoma Park Middle School in Maryland won 2nd Prize in the Middle School division for their documentary on health care policy in the United States, "The Price of Life".

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Takoma Park, C-SPAN is available locally through Comcast.

"Comcast is proud to partner with C-SPAN on its annual documentary competition and its mission to encourage local students to pursue new and exciting educational opportunities,” said Jessica Gappa, Director of Community Impact, Comcast’s Beltway Region. “We are inspired by these students’ submission and congratulate them on all their hard work and creativity to shine light on a topic that shapes our world.”

More Information:

The duo will receive $1,500 as one of this year's 2nd Prize winners

Derek Mu and Jonathan Fan with Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD)

Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD) - Congratulatory Message

FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research Director Janet Woodcock - Congratulatory Message

MD State Rep. Lorig Charkoudian - Congratulatory Message

Montgomery County Executive Marc Elrich - Congratulatory Message

Alliance for Health Policy President Sara Dash - Congratulatory Message

School Board President Shebra Evans - Congratulatory Message