StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. This year students were asked to create a 5-6 minute long video exploring the issue they most want the president and new Congress to address in 2021.

10th & 11th grade students Josiah Lehmann, Rafe Thompson & Ty Chattillon from Foothills Community Christian School in Great Falls, Montana won 2nd Prize for their documentary about police reform, "Defunding the Police: Is Reform Necessary?" As 2nd Prize winners, the team will share $1,500 in prize money.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Great Falls, C-SPAN is available locally through Spectrum.

"Spectrum is committed to strengthening the communities where we live and work through unique educational programs like C-SPAN’s StudentCam competition,” said Adam Falk, Senior Vice President, State Government Affairs for Charter Communications, Inc., which operates the Spectrum brand of TV, internet, mobile and voice services. “These students have not only adapted to the numerous educational challenges this year, but have risen above those difficulties to create thought provoking documentaries. Charter would like to congratulate all the recipients on receiving this honor.”

More Information:

Ty, Josiah, & Rafe will share $1,500 in prize money for their win

Pictured (l-r): Rafe, Josiah, and Ty

Sen. Jon Tester (R-MT) - Congratulatory Message

Cascade County, MT Sheriff's Office - Congratulatory Message

Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT) - Congratulatory Message

Rep. Matt Rosendale (R-MT) - Congratulatory Message

Foothills Community Christian School Headmaster David Culpepper - Congratulatory Message

Foothills Community Christian School U.S. Constitution Teacher Marcia Lennick - Congratulatory Message

Great Falls, MT Mayor Bob Kelly - Congratulatory Letter

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present Ty, Josiah, & Rafe with a Certificate of Special Recognition