StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. This year students were asked to create a 5-6 minute long video exploring the issue they most want the president and new Congress to address in 2021.

11th grade students Ethan Norman & Jack Teipe from Gonzaga College High School in Washington, DC won 2nd Prize for their documentary about social media and disinformation's impact on political discourse, "Sea of Irrelevance." As 2nd Prize winners, the duo will share $1,500 in prize money.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Washington, C-SPAN is available locally through Comcast.

"Despite the educational challenges students faced this school year, these local winners showed creativity, resourcefulness and a strong work ethic to create this documentary addressing an important issue on both the local and national level," said Misty Allen, Vice President of Government and Community Affairs for Comcast’s Beltway Region. "Comcast always looks forward to working with longstanding partners like C-SPAN and StudentCam to strengthen our communities through educational programs."

More Information:

Ethan Norman & Jack Teipe will share $1,500 in prize money for their win

Pictured (l-r): Ethan Norman and Jack Teipe

Director of the DC office of Cable Television, Film, Music and Entertainment Angie Gates- Congratulatory Message

Former Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley - Congratulatory Message

Washington Times Online Opinion Editor Cheryl Chumley - Congratulatory Message

Washington, DC Schools Superintendent Shana Young - Congratulatory Message

Facebook Product Policy Manager Aaron Berman - Congratulatory Message

News Literacy Project Social Media Manager Jake Lloyd - Congratulatory Message

DC City Council Chairman Phil Mendelson - Congratulatory Message

DC City Councilmember Robert White - Congratulatory Message

DC City Councilmember Elissa Silverman - Congratulatory Message

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present Ethan and Jack with a Certificate of Special Recognition

DC City Council Chairman Phil Mendelson presents Ethan and Jack with a congratulatory letter