StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. This year students were asked to create a 5-6 minute long video exploring the issue they most want the president and new Congress to address in 2021.

12th grade students Vivian Bergeron & Caitlin Hooks from Ben Barber Innovation Academy in Mansfield, Texas won 3rd Prize for their documentary, "UnCracking the System." The duo will share $750 in prize money.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Mansfield, C-SPAN is available locally through Spectrum.

"Spectrum is committed to strengthening the communities where we live and work through unique educational programs like C-SPAN’s StudentCam competition," said Adam Falk, Senior Vice President, State Government Affairs for Charter Communications, Inc., which operates the Spectrum brand of TV, internet, mobile and voice services. "These students have not only adapted to the numerous educational challenges this year, but have risen above those difficulties to create thought provoking documentaries. Charter would like to congratulate all the recipients on receiving this honor."

More Information:
WATCH: UnCracking the System

The team will share $750 in prize money for their win

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present the duo with a Certificate of Special Recognition

Texas State Representative David Cook - Congratulatory Message

Mansfield, TX Mayor Dr. Michael Evans - Congratulatory Message

Texas State Senator Beverly Powell - Congratulatory Message

"A Forever Family" Author Rob Scheer - Congratulatory Message

Mansfield, TX City Councilmember Julie Short - Congratulatory Message

Former Foster Parent Lanae Humbles - Congratulatory Message