StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. This year students were asked to create a 5-6 minute long video exploring the issue they most want the president and new Congress to address in 2021.

11th grade students Danielle Tong, Rochelle Williams & Isabella Maes from Franklin High School in Elk Grove, CA won 3rd Prize for their documentary, "Climate Change and its Effect on Human Life." The group will share $750 in prize money.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Elk Grove, C-SPAN is available locally through Comcast.

"Despite the educational challenges students faced this year, these local winners showed creativity, resourcefulness and a strong work ethic to create documentaries addressing important issues on both the local and national level," said Beth Hester, Vice President of External Affairs, Comcast California. "Comcast continues to be committed to strengthening our communities through educational programs, including our longstanding partnership with C-SPAN and StudentCam."

More Information:

The group will share $750 in prize money for their win

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present the group with a Certificate of Special Recognition

Representative Ami Bera - Congratulatory Message

Councilmember Darren Suen - Congratulatory Message

Vice Mayor Stephanie Nguyen - Congratulatory Message

Councilmember Kevin Spease - Congratulatory Message

Elk Grove, CA Mayor Bobbie Singh-Allen - Congratulatory Message

Superintendent Chris Hoffman - Congratulatory Message

The Elk Grove, CA City Council present the group with a Certificate of Special Recognitionn

Assembly Member Jim Cooper presents the group with a Certificate of Special Recognitionn