StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. This year students were asked to create a 5-6 minute long video exploring the issue they most want the president and new Congress to address in 2021.

10th grade students Tovya Michael, Seneka Millawabandara & Isabella Lack from Inderkum High School in Sacramento, California won 3rd Prize for their documentary, "Mental Health: Crisis of the American People." The team will share $750 in prize money.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Sacramento, C-SPAN is available locally through Comcast.

"Despite the educational challenges students faced this year, these local winners showed creativity, resourcefulness and a strong work ethic to create documentaries addressing important issues on both the local and national level," said Beth Hester, Vice President of External Affairs, Comcast California. "Comcast continues to be committed to strengthening our communities through educational programs, including our longstanding partnership with C-SPAN and StudentCam."

More Information:

The team will share $750 in prize money for their win

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present the trio with a Certificate of Special Recognition

Sacramento Mayor Darrell Steinberg - Congratulatory Message

Rep. Doris Matsui - Congratulatory Letter

Clinical Psychologist Dr. Shacunda Rogers - Congratulatory Message

UC Davis Medical Center Psychiatrist Dr. Glen Xiong - Congratulatory Message

Sacramento County Board of Education Vice President Karina Talamantes - Congratulatory Message

Natomas Unified School District Superintendent Chris Evans - Congratulatory Message

Inderkum High School Principal Dan Motherspaw - Congratulatory Message