StudentCam Prize Winners

StudentCam is C-SPAN's annual national video documentary competition that encourages students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and our nation. This year students were asked to create a 5-6 minute long video exploring the issue they most want the president and new Congress to address in 2021.

10th grade students Lauren Cargal & Sophia Smith from Jenks High School in Oklahoma won 3rd Prize for their documentary, "Breaking the Feed-Forward Cycle." The duo will share $750 in prize money.

C-SPAN is funded by America’s cable and satellite television companies, who also support StudentCam. In Jenks, C-SPAN is available locally through Cox Communications.

"Cox is proud to continue our partnership with C-SPAN on their annual StudentCam competition," said Roger Ramseyer, Vice President and Region Manager for Cox Tulsa. "The caliber of work that these winning students produced is commendable and we offer our heartfelt congratulations."

More Information:
WATCH: Breaking the Feed-Forward Cycle

The team will share $750 in prize money for their win

C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb and co-President Susan Swain present the duo with a Certificate of Special Recognition

Congressman Kevin Hern - Congratulatory Message

National Institute on Drug Abuse Director Dr. Nora Volkow - Congratulatory Message

Oklahoma Lieutenant Governor Matt Pinnell presents Sophia with a Certificate of Special Recognitionn

Oklahoma Lieutenant Governor Matt Pinnell presents Lauren with a Certificate of Special Recognition